The Monuments Men

Monuments Men

For Valentine’s Day my husband asked me what I wanted to do. I told him I wanted to see The Monuments Men. For those not familiar with the story line, below is an excerpt from IMDB about the movie

Based on the true story of the greatest treasure hunt in history, The Monuments Men is an action drama focusing on an unlikely World War II platoon, tasked by FDR with going into Germany to rescue artistic masterpieces from Nazi thieves and returning them to their rightful owners. It would be an impossible mission: with the art trapped behind enemy lines, and with the German army under orders to destroy everything as the Reich fell, how could these guys – seven museum directors, curators, and art historians, all more familiar with Michelangelo than the M-1 – possibly hope to succeed? But as the Monuments Men, as they were called, found themselves in a race against time to avoid the destruction of 1000 years of culture, they would risk their lives to protect and defend mankind’s greatest achievements.

I love history. I love finding stories I hadn’t known were out there. This movie is a fountain of information, and I loved watching it. The humor is perfectly timed, and there are parts of the movie where if you don’t cry, you don’t have a heart.  I absolutely LOVED this movie, and it is on my list of movies to purchase as soon as they come out.

I give this movie 5 stars.

5 stars

1 Comment

Filed under Compassion, Dreams, Faith, Good Will, Hope, Humanity, Morality, Movie

One response to “The Monuments Men

  1. The cast is what practically saves this movie, although it’s a shame that the rest of the movie could have been a lot better as well. Good review.

    Like

Leave a Reply

