Star Wars VII The Force Awakens

star-wars-the-force-awakens

I have the best boss in the world. He rented a theater for Star Wars VII: The Force Awakens on opening day, and yes, I was there to see the movie. Now you’re asking yourself why I waited two weeks to post my review (or if your one of my loyal readers, maybe you’re not as you know I’m generally not the most prompt poster).

In this case, it was an intentional decision not to post immediately. I wanted to give people a chance to see the movie before I posted, as I couldn’t post my review spoiler free. If you haven’t seen the movie and don’t want a spoiler, you might want to stop reading here. I will try to not give major spoilers.

Still reading? Good. So here’s your first spoiler.

Sorry I just couldn't help myself

Ok, sorry I couldn’t help myself. The new Star Wars movie is among my Top 3 Star Wars Movies of all time. Unlike my hubby, I didn’t do the marathon before the new movie, so I want to re-watch all of the older movies before solidifying my list. As it stands right now from memory I would rank as follows

  1. Empire Strikes Back
  2. A New Hope
  3. Force Awakens
  4. Return of the Jedi
  5. Revenge of the Sith
  6. Attack of the Clones
  7. The Phantom Menace

Now back to Force Awakens. J.J. Abrams did an excellent job recovering the franchise from George Lucas’ horrible prequels to his masterpiece. He uses a lot of symbolism in the movie, and pays homage to the original 3 films (New Hope, Empire Strikes Back & Return of the Jedi) while engaging a new generation and older generations with the film.

The old cast (Luke, Leia, Han and others) returned, but in a way that the new story really isn’t about them. They are there to lend support to the new cast, but in a way that we who grew up with Star Wars feel a sense of fulfillment. J.J. also made some effort to give the readers of the books a feeling that the many many books we loved that were cannon but now aren’t cannon are still valued, and have a place within the Star Wars galaxy, just not within the new story line; while somewhat keeping some of the content intact.

cannon

So lets talk characters in the movie. There will be some spoilers. This is your last warning. If you read beyond this point and find out something you didn’t know it’s your own fault. Don’t blame me.

Han & Leia:

Han and Leia are back! My favorite geeky couple in the entire world is back. I enjoyed that Han and Leia DID get married. This can’t be a spoiler. Really!!!! Dude, honestly, you didn’t think they wouldn’t get married?????) J.J. Abrams handled the relationship between Han and Leia in the movie so very very well… No, I’m not going to spoil any of the story line here… You can tell they love each other dearly, and have a bond that goes beyond time.

love

Rey:

Onto our new heroine Rey. She is a strong female presence, who is independent and can take care of herself. It is nice to see that this hasn’t been lost in the sequel as it was in the prequel.

crush

You notice there is no Geek’s crush for our fair Queenly Amadala from the prequel. Of course I don’t think that Natalie Portman was the best option for Padme as she’s an awful actress unless she’s dying.

BB8:

The best part of The Force Awakens for me was BB8, well that and no horrible Jar Jar character. (Guess I’m a droid girl cause I love the droids). This also goes to prove you can have a comic relief character without making the movie totally suck.

Droid

Finn (FN2187):

Finn was another surprise for me in the movie. When I saw the preview, I was skeptical about Finn. The Finn character was refreshingly not what was expected. I completely expected a Jedi spy in the first order. Thankfully I was wrong about this.  I was impressed with the development they put into Finn as a character.

Finn Stamp Major Spoiler Alert:

Finn (FN-2187) was trained since birth to serve the First Order as a storm trooper. During his first combat mission on Jakku, his conscience awakens, and he chooses to do what is right instead of what he is ordered to do, and turns traitor to the First Order. It impressed me that they would in this day and age of majority rules consensus on morality choose to have a character choose the moral right instead of what everyone else does because the consensus thinks it’s right (obey orders).

morality

Kylo Ren:

Kylo Ren. Lets see, what can I say but go read the Emo Kylo Ren twitter. It’s a riot.

kylo-ren-comic

In all seriousness now, this character was very well thought out, and lets just say he has some issues with controlling his temper. He reminds me a lot of the teenagers now days who have a disease called Meitis (everything is all about me).  This makes him not only dangerous, but destructive to the point that you can tell people only put up with his crap because if they didn’t they would be next in line to die. I look forward to seeing what they do with this character. Already his history is something that was surprising, and his real name comes somewhat at a nod to the now non-cannon works (albeit not exactly what you expect).

Kylo Ren Stamp

I can’t wait to go watch this movie again. J.J. Abrams is a genius and his reboot of Star Wars is on par with his reboot of Star Trek. I hope he continues to be involved with the rest of the Star Wars movies as with what he has done at this point has been absolutely amazing.

Now for a few more of my favorite meme for the new Star Wars.

sabers

What can we say, it’s pretty accurate.

a47This movie gets 5 Stars from me

5 stars

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Anthology, Book, Compassion, Courage, Disney, Dreams, Faith, Goodness, Hope, Humanity, Kindness, Love, Loyalty, Star Wars, Talents

Leave a Reply

